ReDux. A Soviet Joke 1993.

A Soviet Joke (1) – 1993

A Soviet nuclear physicist is at a conference and meets a fellow physicist from the United States.

The American physicist tells the Soviet what car he drives.

‘In the countryside I drive a jeep.  In town I drive a Cadillac. When I am in Europe I drive a Mercedes’.

The Soviet physicist replies.

‘In the countryside I take a bus.  In town I take the train and in Europe, I drive a tank’.

This joke was told to me on the landing of one of the endless concrete tower blocks that surround Moscow. 

The man who told me was a nuclear physicist.

 

Two months later tanks growled past on the street below, on the way to partly demolish Russia’s lower parliamentary house.

Boom! Boom!

Leave a Reply

